CS Professor Cristina Nita-Rotaru Earns COS Research Award - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

CS Professor Cristina Nita-Rotaru Earns COS Research Award


Writer(s): Jesica Hollinger

Jeffery Roberts, Frederick L. Hovde Dean of the College of Science honored three researchers Thursday (March 27) with the 2013 College of Science Research Award, during a formal ceremony in the Richard and Patricia Lawson Computer Science building.

Purdue Computer Science Department’s associate professor, Cristina Nita-Rotaru (one of the researchers honored) is presented with a personalized crystal cube and a monetary award of $1000 from Dean Roberts.

The College of Science research awards are conferred to individuals who make significant contributions to their respective fields within the college.

Nita-Rotaru joined Purdue in 2003, where she conducts her research within the Dependable and Secure Distributed Systems Laboratory (DS^2). Her research interests lie in designing distributed systems and network protocols and applications that are dependable and secure, while maintaining acceptable levels of performance. The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) help fund her research.

Awardees are comprised of mid-career and senior level individuals. Each of the seven departments in the college is invited to submit no more than two nominations per year. Eligibility includes any tenured faculty member with an appointment of half-time or greater status, who has not previously received the award.

Additional award recipients include Chengde Mao of the Department of Chemistry, and Jayanta K. Ghosh of the Department of Statistics, currently on sabbatical.


Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 1:52 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.