Purdue University - Department of Computer Science - Conte Lecture Series Skip to main content

Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series

Samuel D. Conte (1917-2002) founded the Department of Computer Science at Purdue University in 1962. His vision and active involvement nationally and internationally played a vital role in defining the discipline of computer science worldwide. 

Each year, the Department of Computer Science faculty identify computer scientists who are recognized as leaders in the field and whose ideas and research command the attention of the students and faculty.  A select group of individuals are then invited to be a part of the annual Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series on Computer Science.

In 1993, the Samuel D. Conte Endowment was established to honor Dr. Conte and his devotion to excellence in teaching and research in computer science. The Samuel D. Conte Lecture Series, sponsored by the endowment, serves as a permanent testimonial of his contributions to the Department of Computer Science, Purdue University, and the computing field.

2019 Lectures:

Download 2019 Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series Poster

Kavita Bala

Cornell University, Computer Science Department, Chair and Professor,

Sept. 16, 2:30-4:00P, LWSN: 1142

Natalie Enright Jerger

University of Toronto, Percy Edward Hart Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Oct. 2,  2:30-4:00P, LWSN: 1142

Raghu Ramakrishnan

CTO for Data and Technical Fellow at Microsoft

Oct. 29, 4:00-5:30, LWSN: 1142

Michael Stonebraker

MIT, Adjuct Professor of Computer Science

Nov. 4, 3:30-5:00, LWSN: 1142

Past Lectures:

1994: Carl de Boor, University of Wisconsin

1995: Marshall T. Rose, First Virtual Holdings

1996: Nancy G. Leveson, University of Washington

1997: Ken Kennedy, Rice University

2000: James Foley, Georgia Institute of Technology

2000: Jim Kurose, University of Massachusetts Amherst

2000: Nancy Lynch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2000: Jay Lepreau, University of Utah

2000: Pravin Varaiya, University of California, Berkeley

2001: Gene Golub, Stanford University

2001: George Cybenko, Dartmouth University

2002: Alan Frieze, Carnegie Mellon University

2002: C. W. Gear, NEC Research Institute

2002: Peter Neumann, SRI International

2003: Barbara Ryder, Rutgers University

2003: Burton Smith, Cray Research

2003: Pat Hanrahan, Stanford University

2003: Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Research - Almaden

2004: Raj Jain, Nayna Networks

2004: John Mitchell, Stanford University

2004: Thomas Hughes, University of Texas at Austin

2004: Ingrid Carlbom, Bell Laboratories

2005: Pamela Samuelson, University of California, Berkeley

2005: Greg Morrisett, Harvard University

2005: Ronald Rivest, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2006: David Patterson, University of California, Berkeley

2006: James Demmel, University of California, Berkeley

2006: Jennifer Rexford, Princeton University

2006: Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts Amherst

2006: Jack Dongarra, University of Tennesseee

2007: Andries van Dam, Brown University

2007: Frances Allen, IBM T. J. Watson Research Laboratory

2007: Christos Faloutsos, Carnegie Mellon University

2007: Robert Sedgewick, Princeton University

2008: Joan Feigenbaum, Yale University

2008: Danny Sorensen, Rice University

2008: Leslie Pack Kaelbling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2008: Prabhakar Raghavan, Yahoo! Research

2009: Laura Haas, IBM Research - Almaden

2009: Alon Halevy, Google

2009: Tayfun Tezduyar, Rice University

2009: Manuela Veloso, Carnegie Mellon University

2009: Shafi Goldwasser, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2010: Alex Aiken, Stanford University

2010: Robin Murphy, Texas A&M University

2010: David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University

2010: Fred Schneider, Cornell University

2011: Bruce Croft, University of Massachusetts Amherst

2011: Thomas Ball, Microsoft

2011: David Laidlaw, Brown University

2012: C. Mohan, IBM Research - Almaden

2012: John Hopcroft, Cornell University

2012: Iain Duff, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory & CERFACS

2012: Tom Mitchell, Carnegie Mellon University

2013: Barbara Liskov, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2013: Paul Van Dooren, Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium

2014: Frank Tip, University of Waterloo, Canada

2015: Dana Randall, Georgia Institute of Technology

2015: Gerhard Weikum, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany

2015: Andreas Zeller, Saarland University, Germany

2016: Yousef Saad, University of Minnesota

2016: Manuel Blum, Carnegie Mellon University

2017: Srini Devadas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2017: Andrew Appel, Princeton University

2018: Nicholas Higham, University of Manchester, England

2018: Raymond J. Mooney, University of Texas at Austin

2018: Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois

2018: Patrick McDaniel, Pennsylvania State University

2019: Kavita Bala, Cornell University

2019: Natalie Enright Jerger, University of Toronto

2019: Raghu Ramakrishnan, Microsoft

2019: Michael Stonebraker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2019 11:01 AM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.