Bertino re-elected as Vice President of the ACM - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Bertino re-elected as Vice President of the ACM


Professor Elisa Bertino

Professor Elisa Bertino


ACM has re-elected Elisa Bertino, Samuel D. Conte Professor of Computer Science, to another two-year term as vice president. Bertino is an ACM Fellow, former ACM Secretary/Treasurer, and 2019–2020 ACM Athena Lecturer. 

Re-elected ACM vice president, Elisa Bertino has made pioneering contributions to data management, data security theory, and systems for over 30 years. With another term in office, she hopes to guide ACM in addressing questions raised by AI and data ethics, data privacy and sustainability, among other pressing topics. “I will work together with the ACM Executive Committee and the many volunteers and leaders in ACM to make sure the organization plays a central role in fostering discussions and initiatives to answer questions posed by society concerning our technologies,” Bertino said. “I will also focus on important matters, such as broadening diversity in our field, supporting younger researchers and making sure ACM is technically and globally relevant by organizing workshops and conferences on new emerging technologies and applications.”

Bertino was named an ACM Fellow for contributions to secure database systems. Within the data security and privacy field, she is especially known for pioneering innovations in context-based access control and data protection from insider threats. Her recent work focuses on security of cellular networks and IoT systems. Prior to severing as Vice President, Bertino served as Secretary/Treasurer (20202022). She also served as Chair of SIGSAC, the ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (20092013) and in 2011, co-founded of the ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy (CODASPY), which has become the main forum for high-quality research on data privacy and security.

Additionally, Yannis Ioannidis was re-elected as president for a two-year term beginning July 1. Ioannidis is a Professor of Informatics & Telecom at the University of Athens, Greece, and a Fellow of ACM and IEEE. An ACM member since 1983, he has served as ACM Secretary/Treasurer (2018–2020), SIGMOD Chair (2009–2013) and Vice-Chair (2005–2009), and as a member of the ACM Europe Council, the SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, and the ACM Publications Board.

Newly elected to the office of secretary/treasurer is Rashmi Mohan, Director of Engineering at Splunk Inc., former ACM India Council Secretary, and founding member and host of the popular ACM ByteCast podcast series.

President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer serve two-year terms from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2026.

In addition, Members-at-Large elected to four-year terms are Odest (Chad) Jenkins (University of Michigan), John Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology), Tanara Lauschner (Federal University of Amazonas), Alison Derbenwick Miller (Independent Consultant), Alejandro Saucedo, (Zalando SE and Institute for Ethical AI & Machine Learning).

They will serve four-year terms from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2028.

Professor Elisa Bertino joined Purdue in January 2004 as professor in Computer Science and research director at CERIAS. Her research interests cover many areas in the fields of information security and database systems. Her research combines both theoretical and practical aspects, addressing applications on a number of domains, such as medicine and humanities. Current research includes: access control systems, secure publishing techniques and secure broadcast for XML data; advanced RBAC models and foundations of access control models; trust negotiation languages and privacy; data mining and security; multi-strategy filtering systems for Web pages and sites; security for grid computing systems; integration of virtual reality techniques and databases; and geographical information systems and spatial databases.

Professor Bertino serves or has served on the editorial boards of several journals - many of which are related to security, such as the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security, the IEEE Security & Privacy Magazine, and IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing. She is currently serving as program chair of the 36th International Conference on Very Large Data Bases (VLDB 2010). Professor Bertino is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and a Fellow of ACM. She received the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement award in 2002 for outstanding contributions to database systems and database security and advanced data management systems, and received the 2005 Tsutomu Kanai Award by the IEEE Computer Society for pioneering and innovative research contributions to secure distributed systems.


About the Department of Computer Science at Purdue University

Founded in 1962, the Department of Computer Science was created to be an innovative base of knowledge in the emerging field of computing as the first degree-awarding program in the United States. The department continues to advance the computer science industry through research. US News & Reports ranks Purdue CS #20 and #18 overall in graduate and undergraduate programs respectively, 6th in cybersecurity, 8th in software engineering, 13th in programming languages and systems, 15th in data analytics, and 18th in theory. Graduates of the program are able to solve complex and challenging problems in many fields. Our consistent success in an ever-changing landscape is reflected in the record undergraduate enrollment, increased faculty hiring, innovative research projects, and the creation of new academic programs. The increasing centrality of computer science in academic disciplines and society, and new research activitiescentered around foundations and applications of artificial intelligence and machine learning, such as natural language processing, human computer interaction, vision, and robotics, as well as systems and securityare the future focus of the department.

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2024 5:47 AM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.