14th Annual Awards Banquet - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

14th Annual Awards Banquet


Graduate Student Board President, Marina Blanton presented the Top Graduate TA award to Jacques Thomas. Prof. Sunil Prabhakar congratulates Maria Heider after she received an IBM scholarship.

Corporate representatives, faculty, students, and staff gathered at the 14th Annual Computer Science Awards Banquet to celebrate accomplishments and friendships. The ceremony took place on April 3, 2006 in the Purdue Memorial Union, North Ballroom. Master of Ceremony, Professor Gene Spafford (Spaf), started the banquet by welcoming visitors from within the university as well as those who came to Purdue for the occasion.

Department Head, Prof. Susanne Hambrusch recognized those who were honored with awards in the past academic year. Past awards are featured in the Computer Science news archive. Prof. Hambrusch presented the 2006 Outstanding Staff Member Awards to Karla Cotter and Linda Byfield, and the Outstanding Service to the Department by a Student award to Michael Armbrust. She also announced the Outstanding Teachers in the CoS: Professors Mike Atallah, Douglas Comer, and Buster Dunsmore and Dr. Gustavo Rodriguez-Rivera. During the banquet Prof. Buster Dunsmore was also named ACM Favorite Undergraduate Faculty and Prof. Greg Frederickson was honored by the GSB as the Most Inspiring Professor.

Prof. Eugene Spafford returned to the stage to recognize graduate students who had won awards during the past academic year. He also announced the outstanding graduate teaching honor which went to Ryan Riley and Yasin Laura Silva. Ryan was also chosen Top Graduate Student TA by the ACM, and graduate student, Jacques Thomas received the Top Graduate TA honor from the GSB.

Undergraduate awards presented at the banquet included: Outstanding Seniors, Michael Armbrust and Mehmet Demirci; Outstanding Juniors, Brett Bavar, Alexei Czeskis, and Ryan Stutsman; Outstanding Sophomores, Ryan Adams and Ferry Unardi; Outstanding Research Efforts, Philip Schatz and Alexei Czeskis; and Top Undergraduate Student TAs, James Roberts, Zachary Tatlock, and Janine Tenkate;

There were also some lighthearted awards given in the spirit of a fun workplace. Ron Castongia and Brian Board were presented with a supply of nuts to use the next time we have a squirrel-induced network outage. The department recognized Prof. Chris Hoffmann and Dr. Tim Korb with some sun screen for their next trip on the" nerd boat." And Karla Cotter and Nicole Piegza received the Yoplait Mothers' Award for their dedication to wellness and nutrition every day at 10:00 a.m. & 3:00 p.m.

As a result of the support of corporate partners, alumni and friends, awards for the year totaled more than $200,000. Scholarships for incoming students include Grace Hopper Scholarship (1 award @ $20,000); Computer Science Scholarships (2 awards @ $16,000); Corporate Partner Scholarships (totaling $15,000); Women in Computer Science Scholarship (1 award @ $3,500), and the Lockheed Martin Scholarship (1 award for $2,000).

The Computer Science Department would like to congratulate all the award recipients and thank the donors listed below.

Company/Scholarship Recipient
Baker Hill Corporation (1 award @ $1,000) Paul Marks
Boeing Scholarship (1 award @ $15,000) Aaron Link
Caterpillar (1 award @ $1,000) Christopher Isaac
Cisco Systems (4 awards @ $1,000) Jacob Fancher, Robert Insley, Richard Larson, and Ryan Rueth
Cisco Systems Sales Division (1 award @ $500) Shishir Shah
CPP Scholarship (1 award @ $3,000) Zachary Tatlock
Crowe Chizek and Company LLC (2 awards @ $500) Omar Alrawi and Jeremy Orlow
CS-EPICS Scholarship/Microsoft (5 awards @ $1,000) Daniel Spaid, Philip Harnish, Joseph Fath, James Swedler, and Daniel Tang
Eli Lilly and Company (2 awards @ $1,500) Ryan Adams and Alexei Czeskis
David and Janice Fairchild Memorial for Nathaniel A. Johnson (1 award @ $1,000) William Harris
Flexware Innovation (1 award @ $500) Jason Akers
Guidant Foundation (2 awards @ $10,000) Catherine Brown and Brett Bavar
Halstead Award (1 award @ $4,000) Murali Krishna Ramanathan
Harris Corporation (2 awards @ $750) Joshua Koon and James Kung
IBM (1 award @ $500) Kevin Nuest
Aaron and Morgan Kunze Scholarship (1 award @ $3,000) Ferry Unardi
Lighthouse Award (CS Department) Nicolas (Nick) B. Widman
Lockheed Martin (1 award @ $1,000) David Boersma
Motorola (2 awards @ $500)

Maria Heider and Prisilia Paramita

Neel Scholarship (Mary-Ann Neel) (1 award @ $1,000) Vaibhav Sahgal
Northrop Grumman (4 awards @ $500) Alexander Hanna, John Horst, Casey Kolderup, and Kevin Sanik
Raytheon Systems (2 awards @ $1,000) Kyle Kral and Emil Stefanov
Schowe Scholarship (1 award @ $3,000) Daniel Spaid
Siemens Corporation (4 awards @ $500) Daniel Placacio, Wahyu Widjaja, Ryan Riley, and Yasin Nilton Laura Silva
Verizon Foundation (2 awards @ $2,000) Ryan Stutsman and Rimma Nehme

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2024 4:28 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.