CS Faculty Elected to ACM Leadership Positions - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

CS Faculty Elected to ACM Leadership Positions


Eugene Spafford

On Thursday, May 24, 2012, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) announced the election of Purdue Professor of Computer Science Eugene Spafford to a position as Member-at-Large of the ACM Council with a four-year term. Professor Spafford is also the chair of the ACM U.S. Public Policy Council. The new officers elected by ACM professional members represent the more than 100,000 computing professionals and students who comprise ACM's international membership. Read the full news release from ACM.


Elisa Bertino

Other Purdue Computer Science faculty have also been recently elected to leadership positions with ACM'S Special Interest Groups (SIGs). Professor Elisa Bertino was elected to a Member-at-Large position on the ACM SIG Governing Board, a volunteer body that has overall responsibility for the Association's 34 SIGs.


Jan Vitek

Professor Jan Vitek was elected to serve as the Chair of SIGPLAN, which focuses on Programming Languages. In particular, SIGPLAN explores the design, implementation, theory, and efficient use of programming languages and associated tools. Its members are programming language users, developers, implementers, theoreticians, researchers, and educators. Professor Vitek's term is July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2023 2:36 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.