Hambrusch Elected to CRA Board of Directors - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Hambrusch Elected to CRA Board of Directors


Professor Susanne Hambrusch was elected a new member of the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors. Hambrusch's three-year term on the board will begin July 1, 2008. The CRA “is an association of more than 200 North American academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies” (Source: www.cra.org). CRA's mission is to strengthen research and advanced education in the computing fields, expand opportunities for women and minorities, and improve public and policymaker understanding of the importance of computing and computing research in our society. The CRA Board of Directors is made up of distinguished computing researchers in academia and industry and members are elected by their peers. Professor Jeffrey Vitter, Purdue's College of Science Dean and a Professor of Computer Science, is also a current CRA Board member.

Hambrusch's research interests are in the area of parallel and distributed computation, data management and query processing in uncertain and mobile environments, and analysis of algorithms. She is a member of the editorial board for Parallel Computing and Information Processing Letters. She is a board member of the CRA-W where she serves as a director for CRA-W's undergraduate research programs. Her recognitions include inaugural membership in the Purdue University Book of Great Teachers, a 2003 Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award from Pennsylvania State University, and 2004 TechPoint Mira Education Award Winner. She served as the head of the Department of Computer Science from 2002-2007.

Congratulations, Prof. Susanne Hambrusch, for this honor!

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2023 2:57 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.