Service and leadership - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Service and leadership

Purdue University on Saturday (Nov. 14) announced Sasha Kipnis,a senior majoring in computer science, won the merit-based scholarship Homecoming Pillars of Excellency in the Service and Leadership pillar. 

Sasha (Alexandra)Kipnis

Sasha (Alexandra) Kipnis, from Cupertino, California, is a member of the Mortar Board Honor Society, Computer Science Women's Network (CSWN) and Mentors for Aspiring Girls in Computing (MAGIC). She is in the machine intelligence track of computer science and she has a minor in statistics and entrepreneurship.

"As a Purdue CS student, I've been so lucky to have incredible opportunities and professors which made me realize how important it is to make sure that everyone has access to computer science education. Technology is an ever-growing field and it's important to me that everyone, regardless of their race, gender, or socioeconomic status, can be a part of it. I've spent a lot of time working with organizations, like CSWN and M.A.G.I.C., that have helped me further this personal goal of mine. I hope that throughout my last semester at Purdue and my full-time career, I can continue promoting computer science education, accessibility in the tech industry, and diversity!"

The Purdue Student Union Board created the honor to recognize students who exemplify education and scholarship, service and leadership, and research and innovation. It is open to juniors and seniors, and each awardee received a $1,000 scholarship.

Sponsors for the Homecoming Pillars of Excellency are the Purdue Student Union Board and Office of the Vice Provost for Student Life.

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.