Samuel S. Wagstaff - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content
Samuel S. Wagstaff, Jr. photo

Samuel S. Wagstaff, Jr.

Joined department: 1983


BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (1966)
PhD, Cornell University, (1970)

Before coming to Purdue, Professor Wagstaff taught at the Universities of Rochester, Illinois, and Georgia. He spent a year at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. His research interests are in the areas of cryptography, parallel computation, and analysis of algorithms, especially number theoretic algorithms. He and J. W. Smith of the University of Georgia have built a special processor with parallel capability for factoring large integers. He is the author of Factorizations of bn ± 1, b = 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12 up to high powers, Contemporary Mathematics series, v. 22, Third edition, American Mathematical Society, 2002 (with John Brillhart, D. H. Lehmer, J. L. Selfridge and Bryant Tuckerman) (See, Cryptanalysis of Number Theoretic Ciphers, CRC Press, 2002, Sums of Squares of Integers, CRC Press, 2005 (with Carlos Moreno), and The Joy of Factoring, American Mathematical Society, 2013. His Erdos number is 1.

Selected Publications

P.L Montgomery, S. Nahm and S. S. Wagstaff Jr, "The period of the Bell numbers modulo a prime", Mathematics of Computation, v. 79 (2010), pages 1793-1800

J. Gower and S. S. Wagstaff Jr, "Square form factorization", Mathematics of Computation, v. 77 (2008), pages 551-588

E. Bertino, N. Shang and S. S. Wagstaff, Jr, "An efficient time-bound hierarchical key management scheme for secure broadcasting", IEEE Trans. on Dependable and Secure Computing, v. 5, no. 2 (2008), pages 65-70.

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2020 1:56 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.