Professor Sonia Fahmy Named University Faculty Scholar - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Professor Sonia Fahmy Named University Faculty Scholar


Writer(s): Jesica E. Hollinger

Professor of Computer Science, Sonia Fahmy was named University Faculty Scholar effective July 1, 2015.

Professor Fahmy was one of four individuals selected by the College of Science for this notable distinction. Her colleagues include: Tong Liu, associate professor of mathematics; Chengde Mao, professor of chemistry; and Qianlai Zhuang, professor of earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences.

The University Faculty Scholar designation recognizes faculty members who hold the rank of tenured associate professor or professor, and have been in the rank for no more than five years at the time of the designation.  The Office of the Provost approves the appointment and recipients receive a discretionary allocation in accordance with Purdue policy. The term of appointment is five years.

Fahmy joined the CS department in 1999 and her research interests include the design and evaluation of network architectures and protocols. Her work is published in more than 100 refereed papers, including publications in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, IEEE INFOCOM, ICNP, and ICDCS.

In 2003, she received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, and the Schlumberger Foundation Technical Merit Award in 2000.  Some of the results of her work were incorporated into the ATM Forum Traffic Management Specifications, and a patent was awarded for her work on the ERICA algorithm for network congestion control.

Her research has been supported by grants from the government and industry including the National Foundation of Science, Department of Homeland Security, Cisco Systems, Hewlett Packard, Northrop Grumman, Schlumberger, and Raytheon/BBN. Additionally, she has served on the organizing or technical program committees of several conferences, including ACM SIGCOMM, SIGMETRICS, CoNEXT, IEEE INFOCOM, ICNP, and ICDCSCurrently, she serves on the editorial board of IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking and is a member of ACM, and a senior member of the IEEE.

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2017 2:37 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.