CS Department's Cristina Nita-Rotaru Wins College of Science Research Award - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

CS Department's Cristina Nita-Rotaru Wins College of Science Research Award


Writer(s): Jesica Hollinger

Congratulations to Cristina Nita-Rotaru, associate professor of computer science, who was selected as one of three recipients to win the 2013 College of Science Research Award.

The additional recipients are Jayanta K. Ghosh of the Department of Statistics and Chengde Mao of the Department of Chemistry. The annual award will be presented in a formal ceremony later this winter, where recipients will be presented with a personalized crystal cube and a monetary award of $1000. 

Awardees are comprised of mid-career and senior level individuals. Each department is invited to submit no more than two nominations per year. The primary criteria is relative to the quality and impact of the research performed by the faculty member. Secondary consideration is given to funding, citations, patents, involvement of graduate students, and other discipline specific measures.

Nita-Rotaru joined Purdue in 2003, where she conducts her research within the Dependable and Secure Distributed Systems Laboratory (DS^2). Her research interests lie in designing distributed systems and network protocols and applications that are dependable and secure, while maintaining acceptable levels of performance. The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) help fund her research.

The award was created to recognize outstanding research accomplishments of faculty members from the various seven departments in the College. Eligibility includes any tenured faculty member with an appointment of half-time or greater status, who has not previously received the award.

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 1:48 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.