Alumni Named ACM Fellows - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Alumni Named ACM Fellows


The Association of Computing Machinery named two Purdue Computer Science alumni among the 2009 ACM Fellows. PhD graduates Michael Goodrich [MS CS 1985, PhD CS 1987] and John Riedl [MS CS 1985, PhD CS 1990] were recognized as outstanding ACM members, along with former Purdue CS faculty member Chanderjt Bajaj.

The ACM Fellows Program was established in 1993. The program honors members who have shown significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. They are also proven leaders in the fields of computer science and information technology.

Goodrich is currently the Chancellor's Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine. His ACM Fellow citation credits him for "contributions to data structures and algorithms for combinatorial and geometric problems."

Riedl is currently a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Minnesota. The ACM Fellow Program acknowledges Riedl's "contributions to recommender systems and to social and collaborative computing" for the honor of fellow.

Bajaj was credited for "contributions to algorithms for geometric design, scientific visualization, computational biology and bioinformatics." He is currently with the University of Texas and serves as the Computational Applied Mathematics Chair in Visualization, a Professor of Computer Science, and the Director of the Center for Computational Visualization.

Congratulations to Michael Goodrich, John Riedl, and Chanderjt Bajaj, from the Purdue Department of Computer Science.

Last Updated: May 10, 2017 4:26 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.