Spafford Receives ACM President's Award - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Spafford Receives ACM President's Award


Recognized for his long and effective service on security and policy issues, Professor Eugene Spafford was the 2007 recipient of the ACM President's Award. The ACM President's Award is a prestigious, rarely bestowed award that goes to an individual who has shown exceptional ability to advance the technology of computing and benefit society through generosity, creativity and dedication. Professor Spafford was cited for his extensive record of service to the computing community.

Dr. Spafford's current research interests are focused on issues of computer and network security, cybercrime and ethics, and the social impact of computing. He is the founder and executive director of the Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS). This university-wide institute addresses the broader issues of information security and information assurance, and draws on expertise and research across all of the academic disciplines at Purdue.

Spafford has received recognition and many honors for his research, including being named as a Fellow of the ACM, of the AAAS, and of the IEEE. He has been awarded status as a CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional), honoris causa, by the Board of Directors of (ISC)2 and named as a member of the ISSA's Hall of Fame. In October of 2000, Dr. Spafford received the field's most prestigious award: the NIST/ NCSC National Computer Systems Security Award.

Congratulations to Professor Spafford!

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2023 2:18 PM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | DOE Degree Scorecards

Trouble with this page? Accessibility issues? Please contact the College of Science.