Celebrating 40 Years of Computer Science at Purdue - Department of Computer Science - Purdue University Skip to main content

Celebrating 40 Years of Computer Science at Purdue


And a Good Time Was Had by All!

Thanks to all those who joined us — both in person and via webcast — for our 40th Anniversary Celebration. It was a wonderful event, from recounting the early history of computing and the Computer Science Department, to recollections of people and the good times we had, to a look into what the future holds. We look forward to the next 40 years!

Thank You for Joining Us Friday, March 28, 2003

We've put together an exciting celebration of computer science at Purdue University on Friday, March 28, 2003. It was certainly a special day at the birthplace of the nation's first academic program in computer science.

Some of the country's leaders in computer science and information technology were involved in the days activities panel discussions, a departmental open house, and tours, capped by a magnificent evening reception and dinner in the Purdue Memorial Union.

Distinguished guests, alumni, students, and former and current faculty assembled to reflect on the past, assess the present, and dream about the future of computer science and information technology.

Frank O'Bannon Spoke at Banquet

Indiana Governor Frank O'Bannon was our featured speaker at the closing banquet on Friday evening, March 28th.

The Panelists

The Morning Sessions

  • Life as a Student
    Chris Benes, Mike Goodrich, Ajay Gupta, Tom Ho, Kevin Kahn, and Steve Tolopka.
    Gene Spafford, Moderator

  • Remembering People Who Made a Difference
    Walter Gautschi, Mike O'Donnell, Herb Schwetman, Vincent Shen, John Steele, and Curt Worsey.
    Buster Dunsmore, Moderator

The Afternoon Sessions

  • The Future of Information Technology
    Andre Bondi, Eric Dittert, Alan Hevner, Kevin Kahn, and Dave Schrader.
    Douglas Comer, Moderator

  • The Future of Academic Computing Research
    Linnea Cook, Dennis Gannon, Larry Peterson, Dan Reed, Walter Tichy, Stu Zweben.
    Mike Atallah, Moderator

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2019 11:13 AM

Department of Computer Science, 305 N. University Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6010 • Fax: (765) 494-0739

Copyright © 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.