Computational Persistence 2022

About the Workshop

In recent years, advances in topological data analysis have been fueled by progresses on both fronts of mathematics and algorithms. This workshop intends to focus on the computational aspects of topological persistence that is central to this development. Diverse applications of topological persistence hinge on the capability of the algorithms to handle scale and noise in data. We hope that this workshop in its second year, termed as "Computational Persistence 2022", provides a forum to exchange ideas on developing efficient, robust, application-driven algorithms backed up by solid mathematics.


  • Tamal K. Dey, Purdue University (tamaldey at purdue dot edu)
  • Abhishek Rathod, Purdue University (arathod at purdue dot edu)
  • Tao Hou, DePaul University (thou1 at depaul dot edu)

Date and Time

  • Oct. 31 - Nov. 4, 2022, 10 am EST - 1:30 pm EST
  • We will have 5 or 6 talks each day with each talk and Q&A taking 1/2 hour; there will be a break 11:30-12:00 noon.


  • Click here for schedule, and here for abstracts/titles.

Zoom Link

  • All meetings will be held over zoom and a link will be sent to those who registered before the workshop.


  • Herbert Edelsbrunner, Institute of Science and Technology Austria
  • Rob Ghrist, University of Pennsylvania
  • Andrew Blumberg, Columbia University
  • Vidit Nanda, University of Oxford
  • Primoz Skraba, Queen Mary University of London
  • Justin Curry, University at Albany SUNY
  • Woojin Kim, Duke University
  • Erin Chambers, Saint Louis University
  • Havard Bjerkevik, Graz University of Technology
  • Michal Lipinski, Jagiellonian University
  • Yasu Hiraoka, Kyoto University
  • Nina Otter, Queen Mary University of London
  • Barbara Giunti, Graz University of Technology
  • Wojtek Chacolski, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Pawel Dlotko, Dioscuri Centre in Topological Data Analysis
  • Fabian Roll, Technical University of Munich
  • Nicolas Berkouk, EPFL
  • Bastian Rieck, Helmholtz Munich
  • Patrizio Frosini, University of Bologna
  • Julien Tierny, Sorbonne Universite
  • Zhengchao Wan, University of California San Diego
  • Tung Lam, University at Albany SUNY
  • Ling Zhou, The Ohio State University
  • Abhishek Rathod, Purdue University
  • Tao Hou, DePaul University

Participants (as of Aug 12)

  • Paul Snopov, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
  • Jan Rhomberg-Kauert, University of Salzburg
  • Rolando Kindelan, University of Chile
  • Liz Munch, Michigan State University
  • Xinyi Wang, Michigan State University
  • Vijay Natarajan, Indian Institute of Science
  • Rathod Dinesh, IISc
  • Raghavendra Sridharamurthy, IISC
  • Milton Wong, University of Macau
  • Teresa Heiss, IST Austria
  • Narayan Ganapati Sabhahit, IISER
  • Tobias Cheung, U. Edinburgh
  • Sarah Percival, Michigan State University
  • Miguel Lopez, University of Pennsylvania
  • Rubén, Univeristat de Barcelona
  • Niklas Hellmer, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Russell Funk, University of Minnesota
  • Mamadou Bousso, Thies University
  • Marc Glisse, Inria
  • Kristóf Huszár, Centre Inria d’Université Côte d’Azur

Previous ComPer workshops