Sunday June 5, 2011

San Jose Convention Center

General Chair - Suresh Jagannathan - Purdue University

PC Chair - Michael Swift - University of Wisconsin

The past decade has seen an explosion of interest in programming languages, systems, and hardware to support transactions, speculation, and related alternatives to classical lock-based concurrency. This workshop, the sixth in its series, will provide a forum for the presentation of research on all aspects of transactional computing. The scope of the workshop is intentionally broad, with the goal of encouraging interaction across the languages, architecture, systems, database, and theory communities. Papers may address implementation techniques, foundational results, applications and workloads, or experience with working systems. Environments of interest include the full range from multithreaded or multicore processors to high-end parallel computing.

TRANSACT 2011 is part of the Federated Computing Research Conference (FCRC 2011), and is sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN.


The workshop seeks papers on topics related to all areas of software and hardware for transactional computing. Specific topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Run-time systems
  • Hardware support
  • Memory models
  • Language mechanisms and semantics
  • Formal verification
  • Speculative concurrency
  • Conflict detection and contention management
  • Debugging and tools
  • Static analysis and compiler optimizations
  • Checkpointing and failure atomicity
  • Persistence and I/O
  • Nesting and exceptions
  • Applications, workloads, and test suites
  • Experience reports

Papers should present original research. As transactional memory spans many disciplines, papers should provide sufficient background material to make them accessible to the broader community. Papers focused on foundations should indicate how the work can be used to advance practice; papers on experiences and applications should indicate how the experiments reinforce or reflect principles.

The final workshop program with links to accepted papers and presentations is now available.


Submit papers here.

Papers must be submitted in PDF, be no more than 7 pages in standard two-column SIGPLAN conference format, excluding bibliography (but including all figures, appendices, etc.). Submissions must be made through the on-line submission site. Final papers will be available to participants electronically at the meeting, but to facilitate resubmission to more formal venues, no archival proceedings will be published, and papers will not be sent to the ACM Digital Library.

Authors will have the option of having their final paper accessible from the workshop website. Authors must be familiar with and abide by SIGPLAN's republication policy, which forbids simultaneous submission to multiple venues and requires disclosing prior publication of closely related work. At the discretion of the program committee and with the consent of the authors, particularly worthy papers may be recommended for a special journal issue.

Important Dates
Submission deadlineFebruary 28, 2011, 11:59PM CST
Extended Deadline March 10, 2011, 11:59PM CST
Author notificationApril 11, 2011
Final copy dueMay 16, 2011
WorkshopSunday June 5, 2011

Program Committee

  • T.S. Abdelrahman (Toronto)
  • Colin Blundell (IBM Research)
  • JaeWoong Chung (Intel)
  • David Detlefs (Microsoft)
  • Christof Fetzer (TU Dresden)
  • Tim Harris (Microsoft Research, Cambridge)
  • Yossi Lev (Oracle Labs)
  • Victor Pankratius (Karlsruhe)
  • Ravi Rajwar (Intel)
  • Chris Rossbach (Microsoft Research, Silicon Valley)
  • Vasu Singh (IST, Austria)
  • Yannis Smaragdakis (UMass, Amherst)
  • Michael Spear (Lehigh)
  • Luke Yen (AMD)

Steering Committee

  • Babak Falsafi, EPFL
  • Pascal Felber, Université of Neuchâtel
  • Rachid Guerraoui, EPFL
  • Dan Grossman, University of Washington
  • Tim Harris, Microsoft Research
  • Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
  • Tony Hosking, Purdue University
  • Suresh Jagannathan, Purdue University
  • Doug Lea, SUNY Oswego
  • Maged Michael, IBM Research
  • Eliot Moss, University of Massachusetts
  • Michael Scott, University of Rochester
  • Jan Vitek, Purdue University
  • Craig Zilles, University of Illinois
Association for Computing Machinery