- 2005 LAWRENCE H. LANDWEBER Research Professor, University of Wisconsin Madison, WI
- 2004 VICTOR LAWRENCE Vice President, Advanced Communications Technology Lucent Technologies Holmdel, NJ
- 2003 NOT AWARDED
- 2002 KARL HEINZ ROSENBROCK ESTI Sophia Antopolis, France
- 2001 SOGO OKAMURA Tokyo Denki University Tokyo, Japan
- 2000 NO AWARD
- 1999 HISASHI KANEKO NEC Corporation Tokyo, Japan

"For creating and enabling networking and Internet technologies to countries throughout the world."

"For extraordinary contributions and leadership in the development of international data communication systems and standards, and for fostering international cooperation."

"For leadership in Pan-European and International standardization that has created innovative modes of cooperation that has resulted in technical agreements that serve the global community."

"For contributions to microwave and millimeter wave technology, and international scientific cooperation."

"For leadership in reinforcing efficiency of digital transmission by conceiving, developing, utilizing, and fostering synchronization, coding-decoding and bandwidth compression techniques in international communications."

- 1998 NO AWARD
- 1997 MAURIZIO DECINA CEFRIEL/Politecnico di Milano Milano, Italy
- 1996 KUNISHI NOSAKA Kokusai Denshin Denwa Co., Ltd. Tokyo, Japan
- 1995 DAVID D. CLARK MIT Cambridge, MA
- 1994 STEPHEN ROBIN TEMPLE Department of Trade and Industry London, England

"For leadership and contributions to international digital network development and for fostering international cooperation"

"For contributions to and leadership in the development of international satellite systems and optical submarine cable systems."

"For technical leadership in developing the architecture of the TCP/IP Internet Protocol Suite."

"For contributions to the development and furtherance of worldwide telecommunications standards."

- 1993 PEKKA J. TARJANNE Int'l Telecommunication Union Geneva, Switzerland
- 1992 FRANCESCO CARASSA Politecnico di Milano Milano, Italy
- 1991 JACK M. SIPRESS AT&T Bell Labs. Holmdel, NJ
- 1990 SAMUEL J. CAMPANELLA COMSAT Labs. Clarksburg, MD
- 1989 THEODOR IRMER CCITT/ITU Geneva, Switzerland
- 1988 JOHN S. RYAN AT&T Bell Labs. Holmdel, NJ
- 1987 KEN-ICHI MIYA Kokusai Telecommunications Tokyo, Japan
- 1986 RICHARD B. NICHOLS AT&T Communications Morris Plains, NJ
- 1985 FREDERICK T. ANDREWS, JR. Bell Commun. Research Holmdel, NJ
- 1984 NO AWARD
- 1983 LYNN W. ELLIS Bristol Babcock, Inc. Waterbury, CT
- 1982 HIROSHI INOSE University of Tokyo Tokyo, Japan

"For his vision and leadership in re-structuring and re-orienting the International Telecommunication Union to the new telecommunications environment."

"For original contributions in the field of microwave radio relay and satellite communications."

"For technical leadership in developing the first transoceanic fiber optic cable system."

"For the enhancement of international satellite communications through his contributions to signal processing, echo control, and multiple access systems."

"For leadership in international standards development for digital communications and integrated digital networks."

"For contributions to the establishment of international communications switching and signalling systems."

"For contributions to ionospheric propagation research and satellite communications."

"For leadership in the provision of international communications services and the development and deployment of undersea communications systems."

"For contributions and leadership in the establishment of international transmission objectives and standards."

"For improving international communications through advanced planning, cost-effective designs and technology transfer."

"For pioneering work in digital switching and modulation and for leadership in international professional activities."

- 1981 RICHARD CYRIL KIRBY CCIR Geneva, Switzerland
- 1980 ARMIG G. KANDOIAN FCC Ridgewood, NJ
- 1979 A. NEJAT INCE Supreme Hdqts Allied Power The Hague, The Netherlands
- 1978 F. LOUIS H. M. STUMPERS Catholic University of Nijmegen Tournooiveld, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
- 1977 NO AWARD
- 1976 SIDNEY METZGER Communications Satellite Corp. Washington, DC
- 1975 JOHN G. PUENTE American Satellite Corp. Germantown, MD
- 1974 LESLIE H. BEDFORD British Aircraft Corp. London, England
- 1973 VLADIMIR A. KOTELNIKOV USSR Academy of Science Moscow, USSR
- 1972 FRANK deJAGER Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven, Netherlands
  - and JOHANNES A. GREEFKES Technological University of Eindhoven Eindhoven, Netherlands
- 1971 EUGENE F. O'NEILL Bell Telephone Labs Holmdel, NJ

"For sustained leadership in the development and management of international radio communications"

"For pioneering contributions to international communications, television broadcasting and air navigation."

"For contributions to satellite communications systems and the planning and design of automatically switched international communications."

"For contribution to the theory and application of frequency modulation and for the promotion of radio sciences on an international level."

"For his contribution to the successful development and placing in service of the Intelsat System."

"For leadership in and contributions to the development of digital techniques and multip1e access methods for satellite communications."

"For his outstanding pioneering and development work in the fields of telecommunications and radar."

"For fundamental contributions to communication theory and practice, and for pioneering research and leadership in radar astronomy."

"For their contributions to communication systems research, in particular for their inventions in the delta-modulation area."

"For outstanding technical innovations and management in the development of many key technologies underlying the present day international communications art, especially TELSTAR, first operational telecommunications satellite, as well as his earlier contributions to transoceanic cable telephony."

- 1970 HERRE RINIA Philips N.V. Eindhoven, The Netherlands
- 1969 HENRI G. BUSIGNIES ITT Corp. New York, New York
- 1968 EDWARD W. ALLEN, JR. FCC Washington, DC
- 1967 LEONARD JAFFE NASA Washington, DC
- 1966 E. MAURICE DELORAINE ITT Corp. Paris, France

"For outstanding contributions as a distinguished research organizer and leader in the technology of international communications."

"For his outstanding leadership and technical contributions in the fields of electronics technology and communication techniques."

"For work in the development of international communication systems, particularly satellite communications."

"For his outstanding foresight, initiative and competence in developing and executing an experimental program in communications satellites, and in organizing and guiding international participation therein."

"In consideration of his outstanding technical and scientific contributions in the field of international communication extending over a period of more than 45 years and particularly for his active leadership in many fields of communication in Europe and in the U.S.A."