CS Professor, Instructors Earn Learning Community Student Support Award

Writer(s): Jesica E. Hollinger

Student Success at Purdue selected Professor H.E. (Buster) Dunsmore, Vicki Gilbert, Faith Giordano, Kevin Jones, Desiree Marmon, Scott Nelson, and Elizabeth Watts as recipients of the 2015-16 Learning Community Student Support Award for Computer Science and Computer Science-Bridge Learning Communities.

Desiree Marmon, CS Academic Advisor and Learning Community Advisor said she and her colleagues in the department found leading a learning community to be a very rewarding experience. 

"We are able to interact with our students frequently and get to know them.  We try to plan events that our students enjoy participating in and that also help them navigate campus,” Marmon said.  “It is an honor to be acknowledged for the work we are doing to help our students be engaged in campus activities,” she added.

The Student Support Award is given to Learning Community professors and instructors who succeed in planning events and activities, introducing students to available resources on campus, and opportunities for direct interaction for support.