CS 381 General Information

Course standards and policies

List of topics

Lectures are Tues and Thur 3:00-4:15pm in MTHW 210

TA assignments for PSO sessions (all PSOs are in HAAS G066):
P01 (Wednesday, 9:30 - 11:20 am): Haoyu Song (song522@purdue.edu), and Hithen Arun Rathod (rathod@purdue.edu)
P02 (Monday, 3:30 - 5:20 pm): Eman Alnabati (ealnabat@purdue.edu), and  Nathan William Merz (merzn@purdue.edu)
P03 (Friday, 9:30 - 11:20 am): Siddharth Divi (sdivi@purdue.edu), and Riley Avery Hilder (rhilder@purdue.edu)
P04 (Wednesday, 1:30 - 3:20 pm): Himanshi Mehta (mehta142@purdue.edu), and Joseph Thomas Veltri (jveltri@purdue.edu)

TA office hours:
Javad Darivandpour (jdarivan@purdue.edu): Thursdays 10:00 am - 11:00 am or by appointment (Location: LWSN B107)
Haoyu Song (song522@purdue.edu): Tuesdays and Thursdays 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm (Location: HAAS G72)
Eman Alnabati (ealnabat@purdue.edu): Mondays and Fridays 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm (Location: HAAS G72)
Siddharth Divi (sdivi@purdue.edu): Mondays 10:00 am - 11:00 am, and Fridays 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm (Location: HAAS G72)
Himanshi Mehta (mehta142@purdue.edu): Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:30 - 2:30 pm (Location: HAAS G72)

Instructor for the class is Mikhail (Mike) Atallah matallah@purdue.edu, LWSN 2116D

Instructor Office Hours: After the end of class or by appointment, in LWSN 2116D

News Items:

* Midterm is an evening exam, on March 4, 8:30-10:00pm in Lily 1105

* Final exam is May 5, 1:00-2:30pm in CL50

* Examples of past exam questions

* Quizzes (PDF):

* Each student's worst 2 quiz grades will not be counted

* Quiz 1

* Quiz 2

* Quiz 3

* Quiz 4

* Slides used in lectures (PDF):

These are constantly improved, so do not rely on an old version you downloaded
(I'll post times of future updates, so you don't needlessly re-download)

Course Information

Evaluating and Comparing Algorithms

Analyzing Divide and Conquer Algorithms

Divide and Conquer Examples

Celebrity problem, Min and Max

Selection

Computational geometry (closest pair was re-written Feb 14)

Dynamic programming

Algorithms on strings (modified Feb 21)

* Homework (PDF):

* Each student's worst 1 homework grade will not be counted
* A "justify your answer" is the default for every question (when we want 
only an answer, we will explicitly let you know in the question's statement)

Hwk 1

Solution sketch for hwk 1

Hwk 2

Solution sketch for hwk 2

Hwk 3 (modified Feb 12 at 10:16pm to clarify part 1 of question 2)

There was a typo in the original hwk 3 post about the number of points for Q5: It's 20 not 15

Hwk 4

1) Questions about homework format, style, submission directions, etc, should be directed 
to the Head TA Javad Darivandpour (jdarivan@purdue.edu) who is coordinating both the submission
logistics and the grading
2) If for some reason you are unable to submit via BlackBoard, you can email the PDF to
the Head TA Javad Darivandpour (jdarivan@purdue.edu) as long as it is before the deadline
and you include an explanation of why you were unable to submit in BlackBoard (an "I prefer email" 
is not a suitable explanation)